attic of horrors…or not


so i can’t find my camera… again….

when i do… i’ll poke my head back up into my ATTIC… yes its a fricken ATTIC… and show proof that my house is not falling apart like i originally thought….

Steve and I tore a hole in the ceiling of the closet in the study/2nd guest room on Thursday where the original access panel had been… and as insulation rained down on us we were prepared to be covered in stink bugs… and maybe some dead squirrels, a few nuts, who knows what else…. so with our trusty masks on (that we forgot and had to go to Lowe’s to buy mid-demo because we couldn’t breathe)… steve poked his head up into the unknown…

And goes…

“not bad”

Ok… what’s not bad mean? only 1 dead squirrel? only a small layer of stink bugs???… so after he looked around for 10 minutes he goes… “oh do you want to have a look?”

Yes you moron I want to look!!!!! what do you think!?!?

so after he hoisted himself up through the access hole I peaked up in and lo and behold what would u know its a freaking attic and not a crawl space… now could I put a bedroom up there, no… but Steve could stand up the whole way when standing in the middle of the “room” and walk around easily… and now I am on a mission…

In a house where there are no closets in the the hallways… I want access to my attic… so I may be spending the next 3 years convincing steve to frame out a drop down ladder to put in the hallway because I feel like honestly that is wasting a hell of a lot of space up there…

But anyways, the good news is that there is pretty much no damage to the roof aka no water leakage except around the stack to the bathroom and there is some water coming in around the chimney… none of which has caused any significant damage and all that can be fixed when they start replacing the roof next weekend…

So no infestations, also no treasure… booooooo… and a report of a sturdy roof… which was a relief when it is all said and done…

and then I made these – horrible picture from the blackberry i do apologize…

Recipe and icing can both be found on Mel’s blog at mykitchencafe.com these were fantastic…. and i’m not a sugar cookie fan… steve and his family are… but i ate a half a cup of icing… and half a cup of batter…. mmmmm… and then Samson – the bad cat… licked the icing off of two of these cookies when i wasn’t looking… tsk tsk… glad there was more where those came from…

speaking of Halloween… I ran out of candy this year… had over 100 kids… crazy! of course steve gave out more than one peice of candy which I would do if I wasn’t rationing once I realized I didn’t buy enough! eek… we have two crazy decorated houses on our street so we get tons of foot traffic… but had some great costumes this year… including a lady bug who’s pet dog was dressed a bee! and my favorite… a shark… do do do do do (in jaws theme music)

hopefully now that midterms are over i can track down my camera and get a few more posts up on here… gotta catch back up especially with the holidays coming up before you know it…

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

