and crash………


So my knee has been bothering me for a few weeks now ever since I started training again. …

Let me clarify WHICH knee since I am a walking disaster of a body… I have had 3 knee surgeries, an ankle surgery, numerous in-grown toenails removed, carpal tunnel surgery, etc etc… like I said, walking disaster… all thanks to my life of dance, gymnastics and sports growing up…

Now I get to reap the wonderful rewards….

When I was 16 I tore my ACL in my left knee… we thought it was a clean tear… I had very little swelling and at first they weren’t even sure I had an ACL tear and it wasn’t until the exploratory surgery that they found the 90% tear… I had ACL replacement surgery a month later (I advocate organ and tissue donation due to the fact that I have someone else’s ACL ligament in my knee now)… and things seemed to be ok…

I tested out of PT rather quickly due to the strength and range of montion in my leg from all of the dance and gymnastics… but within a few years I noticed that my knee seemed weak and it popped all of the time… Steve still cringes when my knee locks and I snap the joint to pop it in and out and release the tension…

As I started back on my path of fitness again thinking that all of my physical health issues had finally resolved I noticed some swelling around the areas on my left knee where I had my scars from the ACL surgery… Over the last few weeks the swelling didn’t go down at all… no R.I.C.E. made a difference and the swelling started to extend down the side of my leg and if you touched the skin it actually rippled like water…

At my family reunion I had my uncle take a look at it, as he is a family physician… I had a feeling that I was retaining water on the joint, something not uncommon for those with ACL injuries and I wasn’t overly concerned…  He agreed that I had fluid on the joint and recommended that I see an orthopedic when I got back into Pittsburgh…

Annnnnd so I got myself an appointment for the next week…  Let me just say I have had the best luck with my knee surgeons in Pittsburgh… Last October I had surgery on my right knee and adored my doctor and the sports surgeon I have for this situation is also fantastic… It seems strange to get a doctor who is actually personable and takes the time to make that connection with you and he was wonderful…

After x-rays the first thing he said was well you have arthritis already…. I about broke down in tears… The last thing I wanted to hear was that there was something underlying that I was going to have to deal with for the rest of my life and that might set me back with everything I’ve been doing… He did the exam of my knee and explained that I needed and MRI because he had a feeling that I had meniscul damage in the joint as well that was causing the fluid to build up…

When I explain the ACL injury he said that the meniscus damage may have been there since the original injury but he wouldn’t know anything until the MRI… But bottom line, we can’t treat the arthritis until we know if I need surgery to clean cartiledge out of my joint… and even know treating the arthritis will be an interesting situation since I’m only 25…

It just is really a punch in the gut… I hate it… I just want to replace my entire body… I am hoping I can avoid surgery… but at this point I’m not sure that will be an option… We may be able to put it off until winter break but in a knee that clearly isn’t working… I just don’t know… sucks… trying to see the positive in it, but having a bit of difficulty right now…

Leave a Reply

