whoops


Ok so that promised post didn’t make it up this weekend…

Instead, I ended up climbing up on the roof of my house and helping my boyfriend tear off one of the gutters and eves to reveal rotten wood and the beginnings of a decaying roof, not to mention that the past owners of the house had put a roof over a roof and I have two layers of shingles up there…

Basically in the next month we’ll be doing a DIY project with some of Steve’s friends/co-workers to replace the roof which should have been done 5 yrs ago by the previous owners and then shortly after that we’ll be tearing off the shingled siding and vinal siding combo the house is rocking…

As time goes on I can’t help but feel completely jipped by my home inspector who said sure you’ll need the roof replaced soon but you’ll be ok for a while, or sure this will need done but its not a big deal… basically his only freak out was the waste stack in the basement which was leaking… that was replaced before moving in but when the plumbers replaced it then never rechecked the plumbing leading to the day of move in a sewage back up in the basement…

Needless to say I flipped on the realator and the plumber because there is no way they flushed a toilet after replacing the wastestack and didn’t notice water backing up into the basement… 600 dollars later, I’ve had the pipes jetter and snaked and doing all I can not to tear up 15 feet of basement to replace seperated terra cota pipes… basically I love my house, but I never would have bought it had I had a PROPER home inspection…

we still don’t have access to the crawl space in the attic which was sealed up years ago apparently, honestly we wouldn’t be surprised to find a dead body up there at this rate…

But none the less, it was a heck of a bonding experience to think I was going to fall of the roof and die while steve and I lowered down the gutter and tore off rotting wood…

School and work have basically taken over my life… I don’t cook dinner on Monday’s and Wednesday because I’m not home until 8 pm… Tues and Thurs I stumble in at 7:30 and try to throw together some type of meal that can come together in 30 minutes or less… and by Friday after my morning class I am absolutely exhausted…

Take tomorrow for example…  I have a presenation to attend from 8-10 another from12:30-2:30 a meeting for work from 2:30-3:30 then class from 5:30-7… I feel like I run from one to another and just can’t ever seem to finish one task before starting the next one…

I guess I’ve got to teach myself how to plan, organize and just take it one step and a time…

Exams start up in just another week and I will have to make sure that I set aside enough time at night and in the morning before coming into the office to get them completed… We’ll see…

What keeps me going is how excited I am to see where this all takes me… I want to see how far I can go… I want to make something out of myself… I want to make the health care system better and the delivery of it to the public better…

Speaking of… I need to send in my membership forms to all of the orgnizations that office student memberships… gotta build that resume and get in good standing for chances at scholarships next year…

Leave a Reply

