Memories of Dad – set 1


Originally I had all of these under the missing you page… However I am attempting to restructure things a bit more…. and will just be putting links on the Missing You page to any posts that deal with memories of my dad… I don’t want to clutter the page too much and I want to make navagation easier…

I’m so incredibly not a techy so sorry if they actually doesn’t help with anything but I’m trying!!!!

The first set of stories, memories, smile inducing moments… what ever you would like to call them….

August 30, 2010

Someone asked me today what my dad was doing these days… I looked at him and said “we lost my dad about 7 years ago…” the reaction I get when informing someone who had known my dad in the professional realm but never knew of his death is always a touchy thing… the gentleman I informed was caught completely off guard and clearly embarassed and then it falls on me to make it all ok… which this time, it was…  

August 24, 2010

My dad was a hospital executive so he had to wear suits pretty much every day of the week… and I, of course, highly enjoyed buying him the occasional bright colored slighly obnoxious tie for father’s day or Christmas… Two to three times a year he and I would gather in his room and lay out each one of his suits (six or seven in all)…

now this was a big deal… we had to wait for a day with good natural light because we had to assess each suit for the underlying stitching… you never knew if a suit had a hint of green or red in it and that might make all of the difference when it came down to making the shirt and tie combonations… We would meticulously go through each of the suits and then match each of his button down shirts with the suit it matched best…

This in and of itself often took awhile because we would get stuck between two suits and one shirt or vice versa and get into arguments about what looked better… I think he really just did it to indulge me… but after that was all settle we would break out his array of ties… every one of them…

The sports ties, the Dilbert tie, the plain, striped, diamond, pink, black, yellow… and each one we would try to match with a suit so that each suit had four tie options with it… He didn’t like to repeat ties often and saved them until they were threadbare… I still had a few up until a couple years ago including the aformentioned Dilbert tie…

If any ties were left out we’d set them aside for emergencies, he’d take some to his office if he needed to swap something out and then in  OCD fashion he’d hang everything back in the closet together until the next fashion assesembly…

That man was a stud….

August 16th, 2010

At the family reunion my uncle told a story about my dad that I couldn’t help but laugh at… I guess my Uncle Butch taught my dad how to drive.  Had it been left up to my grandfather, god know when any of the kids would have learned how to drive… so my uncle, being the oldest child took it upon himself to take my dad – 7 or 8 years his junior out on the road for the first time…

As my uncle laughed he said… I tell you what, after that ride, its a miracle any of you kids made it to exist… your dad went ahead and made a three lane high way where there were only two lanes… and lets just put it this way, it is a no passing zone now…. it was “Bulger passing on the inside” and praying that nothing was coming around the corner….

The best part… my dad went to take his drivers license test in my aunt and uncle’s car… and it had a tail light out… so he couldn’t get his license until it was fixed… I guess he threw a fit… – i know where i get my tantrums from now lol…

A second memory from my uncle was that while my dad was attending West Point Military Academy he’d often come home on a Friday evening and then on Saturday announce that he had no way back to West Point, New York… (home was Bedford, PA)… so once again good ole Uncle Butch and Aunt Marie got nominated to drive him all the way back to New York… Nothing like dropping that on people at the last minute… lol…

Its always nice to hear a new story about my dad… I like getting to know stuff about him I never knew before…

August 11th, 2010

He had an amazing laugh…. One that bellowed out from the depths of his stomach… and if you were lucky enough to hear it, you couldn’t help but catch it and start laughing along even if you had no idea what was so funny…

One day at dad’s house before he was really sick, my friend Mark was over.  Dad was cooking in the kitchen and he and Mark were going back and forth calling each other names.  Dad had pretty much adopted Mark as his son and loved having him over to visit.  Dad said something at Mark about how Mark couldn’t cook I think and Mark retorted well “You’re just a 6ft Italian dick head!”  As soon as it was out of his mouth Mark turned beet red.

I could tell Dad didn’t care but he acted like he was angry and he went off on a rant about respect and picked up a knife and Mark stood up, bolted down the stairs and was four blocks down the street before we knew what happened… Mind you Mark was pushing 300lbs and we had never seen the boy move so fast before in our lives.  Dad was laughing so hard he couldn’t finish cooking.

Twenty minutes later when Mark came back panting asking if it was safe Dad was still laughing saying that the entire thing had been worth it to see big man Mark give himself a heart attack sprinting down the middle of the road…

Mark and I still tell that story.  It’s one of Mark’s fondest memories of my dad.  He took his death harder than I ever knew.

August 6th, 2010

I hope Mary Ellen won’t mind but she sent me a note last night with such touching memories of my dad that I wanted to share them here….

“I would love to share some of the experiences I had with your dad over the 15 years I had the pleasure of knowing him. I know he loved you so much. He loved to ref, and the Army/Navy game GO ARMY! He loved the music of the fifties …and introduced me to my first glass of Reisling wine (which now is my favorite)…a man much more softer than he would want anyone to know but me being fortunate enough to see and experience that side of him. It was certainly an honor to call him my friend.”

The best part…. Reisling is my favorite wine… and I never knew he even drank it…

Thank you again Mary Ellen

August 5th, 2010

I keep thinking about Dad’s feet… Its not really that weird I promise… He was 6’2″ and he wore a size 9 1/2 shoe…. talk about some little feet on a tall guy… maybe its because I’ve been thinking back to how much he loved running and remember the marathons that he ran… but I remember picking on him because of he he little feet…

And then there was the story of how they got sun burnt once.  I don’t remember the whole story, but when I came back from the lake two weeks ago with a strange sunburn on just the upper part of one leg my mom said, “looks just like your dad’s feet when they got burnt”. 

They went to the beach I guess and he had put sunscreen on every part of his body except the tops of his feet and wouldn’t you know it… the tops burnt to a crisp… After this last sun burn, I can only imagine how bad that felt inside of his 9 1/2 size dress shoes when he headed back to the office after vacation.

Leave a Reply

