pasta night


It goes without saying that I greatly embrace my Italian heritage and love making traditional pasta dishes though I will admit I often cheat and base my sauces with a plain store bought sauce and then spice them up…

So the other night I wanted to make something that I could keep well for left overs and would make use of some sweet sausage that I needed to cook up….

The result was this baby….

I do wish I would have let it bake another 10 minutes but it was still damn good…

The pasta bake included crumbled sweet sausage, chicken, “chunked up” pasta sauce, cavattapi pasta and mozzarella cheese…. simple and yummy…

not gonna lie, I love the steam in this pic

cook your sausage and chicken, season liberally, drain off any grease and add onion, garlic and any other veggies you would like to include that will need sautéed… (zucchini, peppers, mushrooms) and cook down for 5 minutes…

Add in diced tomatoes and choice of plain pasta sauce…

simmer while the pasta cooks and the sauce will thicken a bit…

mix your pasta of choice (curly pastas are best in my opinion) and put in a large baking dish… If you haven’t figured it out this dish is all about eye balling and making it what you want… no true recipe…

top with mozzarella cheese and bake at 350 for 30 minutes…. I did mine for 20 and I think it would have been better if left in longer…  This made about 8 servings… so you can portion it out and save it for your next couple lunches…. it reheats really well…

ENJOY!

3 thoughts on “pasta night

Leave a Reply

