Twisted Mac and Cheese


Some of you probably know that mac and cheese is a big staple in our house hold… and not the Kraft boxed kind, my family has never been a boxed mac and cheese type of fam and my maya (grandma) makes hers with chunks of cheese and butter with bread crumbs on top – no real cheese sauce for her but its pretty damn good…

Since moving out 8 years ago I’ve been trying to put my own spin on the mac and cheese I grew up with and I have to admit once I got a hold of making a roux I was done for… Once I started dating Steve he made it very clear that any combo of mac and cheese that I whipped together would be a-ok with him so Monday night during my cooking spree I decided to try a new combo…

Broccoli-chicken 4 cheese mac and cheese…. long title for a yum yum dish…

I probably could have made more cheese sauce but I wasn’t sure how much I would need but now I know for next time….

This puppy included:

  • 1 bag frozen broccoli
  • 1 and 1/2 breast cubed chicken (cooked)
  • 1/2 cup diced onion
  • 1 box whole grain pasta
  • 1/3 cup grated smoked gouda
  • 1/3 cup grated smoked gruyere
  • 1/3 cup grated smoked cheddar
  • basic roux (I use heavy cream and skim milk to cut the calories for the sauce it always works fine)
  • topped with shredded sharp cheddar and 8 cherry tomatoes halved

This was soooooo quick to through together…

  • get your pasta going and then pop your butter and flour into a saucepan to make your roux…
  • whisk together and add in milk and whisk until thick – usually when it comes to a boil is when you will notice it thickening…
  • turn to low heat and add cheese stirring constantly… add broccoli and chicken and onion…
  • drain pasta and mix in cheese sauce combo…
  • pour into 2 qt casserole dish and top with sharp cheddar cheese and halved cherry tomatoes
  • Bake at 350 for 30-40 minutes…

My finger did become a casualty of the grater though… got distracted by the dog who decided she wanted to help herself to the yummy cheese and didn’t realize my knuckle was so close to the grate… OUCHie…

But the end result was fantastic!!!

Steve kept going into the kitchen after this came out of the oven and helping himself to forkfulls straight from the baking dish… Needless he told me this is now one of his favorite meals which is a big deal because that boy is a picky picky picky eater…

Enjoy!!!!

Q: Are you a fan of veggies in your pasta dishes or are you a plain sauce type of person?

One thought on “Twisted Mac and Cheese

Leave a Reply

