sketti anda meataballa


Do you feel Italian yet? you should. haha

a few days ago Steve asked me if I knew how to make meatballs…. really boyfriend o’ mine?  You’re only dating a girl who lives on italian food and you ask her if she knows how to make meatballs? sometimes I wonder if he inhales a few too many fumes from his chainsaws..

So today I finally found motivation to get to the grocery store around 4pm to complete this short list…

look at all that healthy food!

I picked up some 92% lean ground beef while I was there and came home to pre-cook a bit for the week and make Steve some comfort food.

On a side note – Steve’s cat that he’d had since he was 10 died this morning so his family was a bit upset though he seems to be doing ok, I think its because he has his adopted children here at my house. (hence the making of the comfort food)
I got some hardboiled eggs going for salads this week:
And toasted up a ton of stale bread to make homemade bread crumbs… the trick with this is to make sure the bread dries out before it toasts – I don’t have a toaster so I pop my oven to 375 and put the bread in until it starts to get dark which can take a good bit and then flip…
Then pulse in the food processor:
And bag it up air tight:
It will be between the size of store bought bread crumbs and panko which I like and it makes sure you don’t waste bread. This came in handy for my meatballs too!
My meatballs are pretty basic, ground beef, onion, garlic, egg, breadcrumbs, worchester sauce, salt, pepper and dried basil.
My trick is I grate half of my onion and finely chop the rest so that there is a great onion flavor without a ton of chunks.
1 1/2 lbs ground beef, 1 onion, 2 cloves minced garlic, 1 egg, 1/2 cup breadcrumbs, 1 tsp worchester sauce, seasoning to taste
Take off your rings! and mix!
roll in small balls and line up on your baking sheet:

and pop into a 390 degree oven for 9 minutes.

while they are in the oven get your sauce going:

onion, garlic and seasoning (i snuck in some red pepper – Steve later went this sauce is spicy, I like it – WIN)

add a can of this!

and 2 cups of regular sauce of choice

By now your oven should be dinging and your meatballs should look like this:

and pop them into your sauce to simmer for at least 10 minutes (mine were in for 20 until my spaghetti was done)  This keeps the meatballs nice and moist and cooks in the sauce to the meatballs.

in the end its just good old sketti and meatballs as my dad used to call it.

chow down and then go curl up with your favorite loved ones like these guys:

Leave a Reply

