Chicaaaaaago


So as some of you may know I spent the last 4 1/2 days in the city of Chicago at the American College of Healthcare Executives Congress as a Student Associate because well I’m cool and amazing like that.  I networked my butt off to the point where I networked myself into a chest cold which has me a little down in the dumps but it is a-ok…

I got a chance to meet a ton of fantastic people, both students and healthcare exectutives from around the country and I took the opportunity to establish some connections with some people in hospitals and healthcare systems thoroughout PA.  My little schtick was that I came to Chicago to network with people from Pennsylvania, worked out great for me though…

The first day in Chicago it was a raining mess so our group just went down to the conference and registered and then hit up Harry Caray’s for some awesome burgers and sweet potato fries.  Sorry for the lack of a picture… We were so hungry we just dove right in.  I think I had a burger with smoked mozzarella, onion straws and bbq sauce… was delish…

One of the people I was with had to go to an event Sunday night we all just took it easy at this fantastic hotel..

I didn’t get any pics of our room before we cluttered it but our sink was this flat like basin and we had a massive standing shower, some classmates said it was something like you would see in vegas… Thankfully I have a friend that works for the Hilton chain so she was able to help out us poor grad students… 🙂

The lobby was gorgeous… totally architectural…

And there was even a bar on the 27th floor called “The Roof” that overlooked all of Chicago… I forgot to take my camera when we headed up the one night for a student mixer but I promise it was amazing…

Sunday night we decided that we had to have some deep dish but were being totally lazy so we tracked down the infamous Lou Malnati’s and were thrilled to find out they delivered…

Once again, no pic of our actual pizza but here’s an idea…

source

It really did look like that too… to DIE for… 2 pieces and you were STUFFED…

The next 2 days we were going from 6:30am until 10pm every night… the food at the congress was not great, hardly any options for breakfast outside of a mini muffin or a sad looking bagel, you were on your own for lunch unless you went to a luncheon (the luncheons were ok but not fantastic food wise the speaker was awesome though – Dr. Ben Carson look him up if you have a chance…) and dinners were just finger food that was kinda sad… they were much more about the open bar lol which does me no good given I can have one glass of wine before my meds rebell on me…

Wednesday there was just a breakfast which actually had some croisonts and some fruit yay!… and then one other event before we were on our own for lunch and dinner… Myself and one of the other girls walked down to the famous Portillo’s Hotdog joint and chowed down on some weiners and a chocolate cake shake – yes, the blend up a piece of chocolate cake in the milk shake…

I helped myself to a chili cheese dog and an “everything dog” which has every topping you can think of… was delish! and the poppy seed bun was awesome!

Across the street was the biggest McDonald’s I had ever seen…

After that we heading to the Chicago Meseum of Contemporary Art, which was interesting to say the least lol… and then walked down Michigan Ave in the fog and mist…

I did get some neat pictures of the buildings in the fog though…

Little did I know back home a tornado was ripping the roof off of my high school and destroying houses in my home town (more to come on that soon)…

That evening we waited for another classmate to finish up at one of his events and we went down to the Rock Bottom which was much fancier than the one down the street from me.  I dined on the lobster pasta yum… and called it a night since we’d be up at 5am to catch our flight home… The last pic of Chicago I snapped was of the theatre next to our hotel…

Next year I hope I can go back again… I’d prob go out a few days earlier if I could afford it and sight see a bit more… maybe I’ll be in better shape and can take some runs around the city haha… but it was a great time… I met some great people and got to bond with some of my own classmates even more…

See you next year windy city…

Leave a Reply

