making amends with mushrooms


I don’t do mushrooms….

I never have…

I was fairly sure I never would…

When I was a kid, and my dad was mad at me, he would make portabela mushrooms for dinner, knowing that the smell would keep me in my room until dinner was over and then i would come down and have to eat on my own…

That’s my relationship with mushrooms…

Steve… loves mushrooms… it was an issue when we started dating and when he moved in…

I would suck it up, cut them up for his salads but never add them to any other meals…

Until they last few months… He convinced me to try stuffed mushrooms and with all the cheese and filling they were tolerable… His dad would cook them with butter and wine and serve them with hot sausage… delish…

Then I took the jump last week to making them on my own…

mushrooms, peppers and onions… let me just say i’ve also just taken the jump to peppers within the last two years as well…

I seasoned them up and cooked them like Steve’s dad does, in butter and wine…

For this meal I made a flank steak – first attempt at that took… broiled it to medium rare temp per instructions…

Minnie tried to steal some… she failed…

And made some quick whole wheat couscous…

it all made a nice little meal…

This was great…. mushrooms… we may now be on talking terms…

p.s. i finally realized the pass through window from the kitchen to the dining room as a great picture spot…

What is your favorite way to make foods that aren’t on your favorites list?

5 thoughts on “making amends with mushrooms

  1. Yummy! Your dinner sounds great–but then I have always loved mushrooms, even when a niece crunches her nose and says, “You know they are fungus, don’t you?” But you are more courageous than I. There are some foods I just do not like and do not try to figure out how to cook–sorry. It is something about the consistency, I guess as–from my view–they are all mushy. Peas and bananas are my two biggest in the yucky food categories. Even dippong bananas in chocolate does not help!

Leave a Reply

