chicken and veggie enchiladas


Every now and then I find myself in the company of a bottle of trader joe’s enchilada sauce….

Given the boy’s affinity for Mexican food I decided to create my own enchilada meal with some of the veggies and chicken in the fridge…

AND I made use of the slow cooker…

Into the slow cooker went 2 chicken breasts, a jar of enchilada sauce, green and red peppers, onions, garlic and jalapenos… This cooked on high for 2 hrs and made the chicken soooo tender that it just fell apart when I went to shred it… yum…

Into the sauce that was still in the slow cooker I added corn and black beans…  I then mixed half of the completed sauce with the chicken…

some of the extra sauce lined the bottom of a casserole dish and I filled up 4 whole wheat tortillas with the chicken mixture…

Top it off with the rest of the sauce and Monterrey Jack cheese and some pepper jack cheese for a kick…

(the grater was dirty so I sliced the MJ cheese, looks a bit silly but tastes delish…)

Dig in and enjoy….

As I was making this I knew the first words out of the boy’s mouth would be “this would be better with rice”… And wouldn’t you know that’s exactly what he said… that boy could eat rice with everything… however I thought this was amazing as is and took leftover to work a couple days that week, people commenting how great it smelled…

What’s your favorite mexican dish to make at home?

3 thoughts on “chicken and veggie enchiladas

  1. These look delightful–I can almost smell them all the way over here! My at-home Mexican fares are fresh salsa, guacamole, and a quesadilla to use up whatever is around–beans, chicken, usually onions and jalapenos, and then cheddar and hot pepper jack cheese. I do not really consider myself a cook, but I did post a blog entry with my salsa recipe.

    http://learnmoreeveryday.wordpress.com/2011/05/29/chop-chop-chop-does-that-count-as-cooking/

Leave a Reply

