It’s a keeper


Steve is not a fan of most of my cooking…

As I’ve said before, he could live on rice, pasta, gatorade and cereal…

But every now and then I make a meal that he deems “A Keeper”… This is one of them…

Good. Old Fashioned. Eggplant Parmesan.

Soooo delish… the trick… I even snuck in some zucchini!!!

I sliced some eggplant and zucchini, sprinkled them with salt and let them “weep” for an hr and get the moisture out… I think this made a huge difference!

After they “weeped” I rised them, blotted them dry and went through the breading process of flour, egg and seasoned breadcrumbs… fried them up in more oil than I usually would, but once again, it made a difference…

layer sauce on the bottom of the dish and then eggplant/zucchini, sauce, cheese, and repeat until all of the eggplant, sauce and cheese are used up…

I used mozzarella, Parmesan and Asiago cheese mixed together, it was fab…

layer one done!

Bake at 400 degrees for 25 minutes and serve up with some pasta…

I used a local brand of pasta… If you’re from Pittsburgh you might recognize the brand… even if you don’t if you can find this at giant eagle, get it… it was perfect!

pasta with just some olive oil and italian herbs…

Steve even gave this a vote for Sunday dinner one week… pretty impressive if he thinks the rest of his fam would like this too…

YAY me!

Leave a Reply

