Love the little things


Sometimes you are reminded that you need to take a moment and appreciate every moment you have with those that you love.  When I take a second and look back on this weekend I’m so glad I got a chance to do everything that I did because when Sunday night rolled around and my boyfriend’s phone rang the news wasn’t good.  A death in the family – a relatively unexpected one is never easy.  So I’m going to take a moment to reflect on all of the little things I did this weekend because I know this holiday will have a different meaning for Ryan and in turn for me too in a way.

Thursday I hosted another family dinner – just my couple cousins and I, but even when it’s just the five of us in my half done dining room I appreciate that sitting around the table that will now be the center of family meals I know that it’s an extra two hours that I get to enjoy with those I previously didn’t get to see often…

IMG_4509

Friday was a lot of nothing honestly… Ryan and I went to our favorite local restaurant Dorothy 6 Cafe in Homestead for a drink and just relaxed for a bit… and geared up for a bit of a busier Saturday…

Saturday kicked off with an awesome breakfast if I do say so myself… I think I’m starting to love cooking again – especially breakfast… I used the corncake recipe from the How Sweet Eats Cookbook (you must buy) and topped with things like salsa, fried eggs, basil chicken sausage, gouda cheese – you get the idea…

IMG_4516

Then it was off to take miss Minnie to the vet who I’m happy to say has lost 3 lbs in 3 weeks however today i got her blood tests back and her levels are still low so they are upping her thyroid meds and we’ll retest again in 3 weeks… I just keep hoping that the improvements continue and that this is all going to lead to a better quality of life for her…

this is how car rides occur.... big dogs cannot be kept in their place...

this is how car rides occur…. big dogs cannot be kept in their place…

Ryan and I had tickets to see White Christmas in downtown Pittsburgh at 2pm and of course weather decided to go insane Saturday – roads turned to ice – we came across closed bridges and roads but thankfully made it to the play… White Christmas is my all time favorite holiday movie and I was thrilled to get to see it on stage…

IMG_4524

IMG_4528

IMG_4529

The dancing was superb but I wasn’t thrilled with the character tweaks to Judy and the show added a scene after the iconic White Christmas scene at the end which was kind of a major fail but over all i was happy and it was a great time.  We grabbed dinner downtown – sadly my phone died so I couldn’t take photos of the thanksgiving meatball I had at Sienna Mercato.  Holy delicious.

And the day wasn’t over there.  I’ve been on a music roll lately and another one of my favorite singer song writers tweeted me on Thursday to let me know he was rolling through town and doing a low key show just outside the city Saturday night.  It was basically a version of a house show and had a lot of Q&A, requests and was completely acoustic.

Matt Hires and Kyle Cox at the Parkway Theater in McKees Rocks

IMG_4537

Big concerts are just going to be let downs now.  Check out their music.  Ryan loved them and that’s kind of saying something because there’s not much music he and I agree on!

Sunday was laid back – low key and the weather let us leave the house for a few minutes and enjoy the porch… Breakfast of stuffed french toast… peanut butter for the bf and cookies and creme spread and bananas for me…

IMG_4538 IMG_4542

We went up the road and spent some time with my grandma… I don’t see her nearly as much as I should and we just enjoyed the time chatting and making plans for the holiday… Around 6 Ryan’s mom called and it woke me up from a half sleep you know when you can just tell that something isn’t right… His grandma had died and I knew that things were going to get tough and quick…

I don’t really know how to comfort people in times of loss… ironic right?  I know that when I lose someone I just shut down… I handle it completely internally… some of it might eek out over time… but I just distract myself in all ways possible… so I have no idea what to do for someone else who is hurting… I hope I did what was needed to just be there and that’s what I’ll keep doing I suppose… but what I always do is cook… so I made homemade chicken parm… His grandmother was italian so as a silent tribute to her make something italian…

And as death always makes us do, everything starts to slow down, you think about what you could have done differently… and you think about what you can do with those you still have in your life… and maybe that song on the radio stops you a little bit in your tracks today… and maybe the rain makes you a bit sadder… and maybe now the holidays aren’t so happy… but I think as long as we remember to find joy in the little things and smile at the memories and appreciate what we had and what we have that everything is ok…

Leave a Reply

