Planning for Friendsmas


When I moved to Maryland for college I came home for Christmas my freshman year.  That year I had 7-8 friends over and we had a full meal, lots of cookies and exchanged little gifts.  I can’t remember when I had the next little get together like that but slowly over the last few years I’ve fully embraced the idea of a Friendsmas much like people have Friendsgiving these days.

The weekend after Christmas I invite friends over and cook a full meal and we just kick back and relax and have a day to not worry about much of anything.

Last year it was a great little group of about 9 of us.  Then 2014 happened.  And I opened up my life a little bit.  My cousins began family dinners on Thursday nights, I met some fantastic friends through Pirate games, began dating Ryan and hence grew the social circle a bit more and reconnected with some friends who had been lost over the last few years.

I sent out my invite list this year expecting maybe to have 12-13 people.  Right now my RSVPs stand at 22.  I feel so touched.  Even if everyone doesn’t make it to me that is incredible and it doesn’t even include the 4 or 5 people who are out of town and physically couldn’t make it.  While it will be impossible to have a sit down meal I’m still going all out and we’ll be eating on our laps college style and I’m ok with that it’s more about the company than anything else.

My mom, who isn’t coming to the party, because as she says, she’s too old for these shenanigans, is excited and keeps calling to tell me she’s bought assorted nuts and snacks for appetizers and how happy she is to hear about everyone getting together.

So what’s on the menu?

  • Turkey breast (I don’t do a full turkey – not that confident yet)
  • Small ham
  • Pineapple Stuffing
  • Good old fashioned stuffing
  • Brussels Sprouts Au Gratin
  • Green Bean Casserole
  • Sweet Potato Casserole
  • Roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes
  • Creamed Corn with Bacon and Roasted Red Peppers

Now to get all the timing and prep of all of that down – that’s always the fun part… one oven… lots of food… bring me the crock pots!

Leave a Reply

