Let’s Talk Motivation


Do you have it?  Do you lack it?  Is it something that comes and goes?

I tend to have a set amount of motivation and it just depends on the given day what I dedicate that to.  At least that’s how I’ve thought about it in the past.  The problem with that is that when I’ve ended up with one of my chronic migraine fits, all of my energy and motivation goes into “getting better” which means sleep and being lazy and taking medicine.  I’m starting to think that’s not really the way to go.

Also – here’s my warning in this post – I’m about to blow you up with motivational posters – you’re going to have to deal with it. 🙂 Love you guys too!

images

So as I spent my new years with a migraine, double ear infection and sinusitis I thought to myself – something has GOT to GIVE.

I’ve used every excuse in the book… 4 knee surgeries, and ankle surgery, wrist surgery, chronic and episodic migraines, history of vitamin d deficiency, two bouts with chronic fatigue synonym, back issues, tendinitis throughout my legs, feet and wrists, degenerative arthritis in my knee, the list goes on… and you know what… there are people who have had it way worse than me and yet they still kick ass EVERY DAY…

images (1)

It’s time to suck it up… and be honest… I’m never going to be a marathon runner… I’m never going to be a crossfitter… I’m never going to be a swim suit model… but you know what I don’t have to be in this body… half of those “Excuses” I just listed are fixable and managable through WEIGHT LOSS…

Let’s be honest – I’ll never give up the combo of chocolate and peanut butter… I’ll still enjoy my stout beers and when I go on vacation I’m not going to track everything calorie for calorie but there is no reason to be out of control the way I’ve been lately…

6

Ain’t that the truth… When I was exercising I was definitely feeling better – my problem was that I was getting completely defeated because when I couldn’t do a move in an exercise video or I couldn’t run the mile in under 10 minutes or run that second mile without stopping for a walk I felt like a complete failure.  Natalie and failure don’t mesh well together… Like. not. at. all.  So I quit…

There I said it… I quit… I gave up and I quit…

I used my back injury as the excuse to throw in the towel and say I was done… and right now I don’t regret that one bit because it was one hell of a wake up a call…

Female-Fitness-Motivation144

I didn’t do this… I lost that loving feeling and I locked up that drawer of workout clothes and I said see ya later let me eat some cookies…

So the past two weeks and especially the last few days I’ve had a bit of a come to jesus talk with myself… If I want to see success I’ve got to make sacrifices… When I graduated top of my class in graduate school it was because I put in the extra hours of group work, it was because I did extra networking because I studied because I went above and beyond… why was I so unwilling to do the same when it came to my health?

So the changes…

download

I need to embrace the planner in me…  I schedule everything… I live and die by my planner… it’s a running joke with friends… but it is my life line… I need to make this a part of my schedule a part of my job…

I know the food will be tough for me… so instead of tackling WHAT i’m eating right off the bat… i’m going to tackle how MUCH i’m eating… I binge eat like cookie monster… so let’s cut portions then let’s change what’s in those portions…

download (1)

I’m going to start getting up at 5am Tues-Friday.  Even if its for a 30 minute work out and a walk with the dog – it’s something… then if I don’t get to the gym in the afternoon after work it’s not the end of the world… But on that same note… If I don’t get up the gym will not be excusable…

Monday will be a rest day… weekends will be for other activities with the bf… get out and do something… go exploring just DO SOMETHING…

images (2)

Surround myself with people who are on board… I’ve had this all along… I belong to myfitnesspal.com and I cleaned up my friends list, keeping those that are awesome motivation and then adding some new people who are hitting the ground running… using my fitbit and jumping on some step challenges… and my friends some of who have tackled some AMAZING weight loss journeys – they are my day to day motivation… my cousin who lost over 100 lbs, my good friend who dropped over 200lbs last year, other friends from social media who have had just transformations that make your jaw drop…

I want to be them… I can be them…

So  my motivation – success… To never be that quitter again… to never fall down and stay down again… to be able to say “see, look, i did this… i overcame… i kicked the ass of all of my demons and in a way that everyone can see”… Success and even more so – realistic success…

2 thoughts on “Let’s Talk Motivation

Leave a Reply

