Step One


Well Step One is just that… Taking the first step… literally…

My post on the 2nd got me so pumped… more so that I think I expected it too… plus the feed back from friends, family and those I network with on sites like Twitter and MyFitnessPal was fantastic…   People admitted that they had noticed a slight weight gain on me and they were glad I too had realized that it was time to change up the tone…

So sorry- I’ve not been snapping many pictures lately because I’ve been so busy finding motivational things to surround myself with – BUT I will have photos next week of some of the food changes I’m making that are helping me out already…

imagesCA7ALNML

This has been me after every work out the last few days… tired, sweaty, but summing it up with “Damn right I just pushed myself and I did it”.

I’m out of shape… I’ve lost flexibility, range of motion, strength and endurance over the last 4 months… In one of my circuits I go from modified push ups to a full plank – yep, nope didn’t happen… so I help a modified plank… and said ok next week I’ll get up to the full plank.. not a failure… so I can’t do it today – doesn’t mean I won’t be able to do it tomorrow…

imagesCA0435BM

How often this has been the story of my life… Falling and saying it’s fine I’ll catch up… and instead I basically just head back to the couch… I remain where I fell…  Knowing this definition of failure – I’m determined to not let it happen again… even on the days where I hurt, where I’m sore, where I’m tired – I’ll put on my tennis shoes and walk a mile on the treadmill… It’s SOMETHING… I didn’t stay where I fell…

imagesCA10KW5V

Think about it… how often do we go “oooooooh I want to look like so and so..” or “just give me this type of stomach” or “if only my leg’s weren’t so flabby”… guess what… it’s not about perfection… even people we think are “perfect” probably don’t see themselves as perfect… I want to be better in 3 weeks than I am today…

and I get to define what that “better” is.  Is better that I can do 10 military push ups instead of 5… is better that my pants are more comfortable… and what will I do if I don’t reach that “better” mark… will I identify what did actually get better? and will I get honest about why things didn’t get better – you bet…

untitled

I’ve had a couple tests right off of the bat…  Last week I had a double ear infection… New Years Day I didn’t get off the couch… by Saturday I felt good enough to do intervals on the treadmill – so I did… for 3 miles… and then I did nothing the rest of the day and that was ok… then Sunday I walked for six miles… yep – just walked… and that was a-ok with me… what’s wrong with walking… Monday was supposed to be a rest day since I was still recovering from the ear infections but I had energy so I decided I’d walk again – 2.5 miles this time while I did laundry…

Then came the next set of tests… Monday night into Tuesday morning Minnie woke me up at 3am with a seizure in the kitchen… my alarm was set for 5am to do my first morning work out… I got up and sat with her until almost 4… I thought ok well I could go back to sleep until 6 and just make sure I hit the gym this evening… Then I realized I had a late conference call and odds of me carrying through with that were low…

So back to bed for an hour – up at 5am and work out in the books… did I start dragging in the afternoon you bet but I pushed through and crawled into bed at 9 that night..

Next test – Minnie – in her usually day after seizure mental fuzz and not used to mom being asleep so early helped herself to a full trashcan… and then to a sink with dishes that hadn’t been done… at 5am I came down to a kitchen that looked like a tornado had hit it… I was livid… 15 minutes to clean up then she got sick so cleaning up dog vomit (sorry for that mental image) and once again, so tempted to just be like well now I’m running late… but no I know if this new routine is going to sink in with her I have to stick with it…

So work out done… last night I prepped breakfast which made sure I still got out of the door on time this morning… I will not be stopped…

imagesCAIK64HH

I have some great role models right now that I can look at and say this about… Eventually we’ll talk all about them but I hope to stand by them eventually… that is my goal – that’s how I’m going to define my success…

I want someone to say you inspired me to take that first step…

I want someone to say you inspired to get up from where I fell and start again…

This has never felt so right before

One thought on “Step One

Leave a Reply

