Prepping like a boss


Now say that with a little Rick Ross in your voice… 🙂

So as part of this healthy lifestyle change I’m working on embracing some food prep and time saving in the kitchen that I can actually manage… things that don’t involve a lot of leftovers in Tupperware and still give me relatively fresh alternatives.

Breakfast seemed like the easiest thing for me to tackle first… I eat the same thing just about every morning – eggs of some sort, sometimes some sausage some cheese some carb of some sort…

So when I stumbled over these little egg muffins that I could make on Sunday and that would keep for the entire week all I had to do was microwave and go I was PUMPED to try them…

The first time around last week I baked them for too long – but trial and error and this week – home run…

IMG_5005 As you can see I tried to show in stages of building here.  They have a whopping 5 ingredients in them and you can customize these any way that you want…

I chose breakfast sausage (bumped the fat content way up but you can cut this by subbing turkey bacon or a veggie sausage) sauteed onions, roasted red peppers and then just the egg mixture which is just egg and milk with some salt and pepper…  The key is to make sure the muffin tins are greased well otherwise you’ll have a mess when you try to pop these out later…

IMG_5007

don’t those look delish!!! I opt to not put the little topping of cheese on until I’m ready to eat them day off – stale melted cheese is the worst… sometime I’ll toast an english muffin and pop one of these on top for a ready to go sandwhich too…

Here are the nutrition facts below – like I sad fat content high – but easily tweaked and the protein is banging…

recipeTo make these just put you oven at 350 – assemble what you want in your muffin tins putting the egg in last – rule of thumb is 1 egg per every 2 muffin cups so if you only want to make 6 you only need 3 eggs and a 1/4 cup of milk.

Fill the cups 2/3 of the way full and pop into the oven for approx 25 min or until the egg is solid.  Remove, let cool slightly and pull those babies out – store in a ziplock bag and when ready to eat later in the week top with a little sprinkle of cheese and microwave for 45-60 seconds.

Doesn’t get much easier than that!!!!

Get ready – the Salads in a Jar are coming tomorrow – Cajun Shrimp Salad and Chicken Taco Salad….

Leave a Reply

