Have salad, will travel


So I’m lazy….

Yep – no doubt about it… the thought of making a salad every single day exhausts me… Maybe I could pull it off the night before but then you risk getting soggy lettuce if the tomatoes get onto the lettuce and you can forget putting dressing anywhere near anything… not to mention plastic containers just don’t keep things very fresh… and morning of? well I’m lucky I get coffee a quick breakfast and matching clothes on before I go out the door…

Then the salad in a jar walked into my life…

Holy cow – how have I not found these before?!

There are tons of pinterest pages on them and over at Organize Yourself Skinny you can find a great tutorial and some fabulous recipes that are easy to get started with.

I promptly ordered myself some 32oz wide mouth mason jars off of amazon – really affordable if you ask me and counted the days until I had time to hit up the grocery store.  Then – Magic…

IMG_5015

Did I mention you can put things like avocado and guacamole into these salads and they keep relatively well? I’m on day 4 of my cajun shrimp salad and just now the guac is turning a bit – not enough to make me say ew though haha… if you pack the jar full of leafy greens at the top and seal it up good there isn’t enough air to do much damage and a little squirt of lemon or lime juice holds off the chemical reactions….

IMG_4981

So here’s the Cajun Shrimp Salad in a jar.

Here are the layers – top down

  • Baby Spinach
  • Romaine Lettuce
  • Cajun Shrimp (sauteed ahead of time and allowed to cool)
  • Homemade Guacamole
  • Sauteed onions and peppers
  • Mexican Salsa (Giant Eagle Brand)
  • 1 tbs (I swear that’s all!) of Nature’s Basket Ranch Dressing

Nothing really wet touches the leafy greens – the onions and peppers almost pickle a bit in the salsa and ranch and ooooooh its like a little fajita in your mouth when you shake it up and eat it.  Next time around I’m going to put in more lettuce and spinach… eek! who I am saying these things!!!

shrimp nutrients

Still a bit high on the cholesterol and fat but remember there’s avocado in that – good fats if you ask me…

Now – this Chicken Taco Salad

Raw chicken – not the most appealing photo but I was so excited about the flavoring I used….

IMG_5003

I used cumin, chili powder, red pepper flakes, roasted garlic and onion powder but because the roasted garlic doesn’t mix very well I mixed everything with olive oil and basically coated the chicken in it (a light coating don’t worry) and popped it into a hot pan.  The bf said it was pretty perfect when he sampled a bite…

The I started assembly…

IMG_5011 IMG_5016 IMG_5018 IMG_5019

Chicken Taco Salad in a Jar

From the top down:

  • Baby Spinach
  • Romaine Lettuce
  • Diced Chicken Breast – cooked
  • Avocado (with a spritz of lime/lemon juice)
  • Black beans
  • Corn
  • Sauteed Onions and Peppers (one of my jars had raw onion as I ran out of the sauteed ones but I’m guessing this will have that pickling effect in the salsa)
  • Grape tomatoes
  • Plain Greek Yogurt
  • Mexican Salsa – Giant Eagle Brand

chicken nutrition

I thought about throwing a couple of tortilla chips on top and might do that next time…

So get creative – there’s a whole world of these out there utilizing quinoa and pastas and really anything you can think of.  But the best part is that I made 8 salads in 45 minutes in one day including cooking the proteins and I’m set for lunch all week and a few dinners too.  Hence now being lazy isn’t too big of an issue.

So tell me – what are some of the things you’d love to see in a grab and go salad like this?  Have you made these before?

One thought on “Have salad, will travel

Leave a Reply

