30 for 30


About a week ago my good friend Judge texted me – said he had this great idea for me… something I’d love… Judge is turning 40 a week after I turn 30 and we’re having a little mutual get together after I get back from vacation and we’re both honestly kind of embracing these big numbers – excited to see what happens…

Judge tells me – we should do our top songs of our lives… top 40 for me top 30 for you…. My brain about exploded… nope – can’t do it… you could not expect me to rank these songs right… I’m the girl with over 1500 songs on her itunes – not counting the 400 in my cloud because I don’t have room for them – or the CDs in my car or the music sitting on the computer in the spare room upstairs that doesn’t even turn on anymore – and its from back when DC++ and Napster were still a thing… yeah… yeah…. that much music…

But it was a challenge – I needed a distraction… so in about an hour I sat down determined to do this thing…

Let me warn you – this list… eclectic MESS… and the reason behind some of these songs will make you go… uh… Natalie… what….

So me though….

30. Sunset Boulevard – Emblem3…. Don’t judge don’t judge I know not the best way to start my list but when I started running again this was the only song that got me moving when I was stuck… It just pumped me up and reminds me of my trip to LA and I love it… it makes me feel young again…

29. Thinking Out Loud – Ed Sheeran… Clearly made a quick impact as a new song and already onto my list… it’s just so beautiful and the lyrics make you just love the idea of love again…

28. Deliverance – Bubba Sparxxx…  The rift of this song reminds me of a time when I didn’t let life get the best of me… that’s really all there is to it…

27. With You – Jessica Simpson… you can call it tuna or chicken or whatever you want but this song makes me happy to be me and appreciate that it’s completely fine and that someone will love me just the way I am… 

26. Stay with Me – Sam Smith… Do I really have to explain… seriously…

25. Not Over You – Gavin DeGraw… When I saw Gavin perform live this song really just took on a new life… and it always was one of my favorites of his but how true it really is

24. Freshman – The Verve Pipe… there is no song that better defines the 90s for me… oh my this was the song on repeat… 

23. Alone with You – Jake Owen… So there are a few songs on this list that represent times in my life that aren’t ones I’m 100% proud of but the songs mean something so powerful to me that I can’t ignore them and drop them off… this one from the moment I heard it… yeah it was one of those… and always will be… thankfully now I can hear it in a different way…

22. Say Something – Great Big World… I bawled like a baby when I heard this song… this is when my connect with my dad starts to come into place… and it will be crazy strong for the rest of the list… one of the ways I stay connected to him is through music… it’ll be obvious…

21. I Drive Your Truck – Lee Brice… I was supposed to be left my dad’s old 1970’s Duster that we drove grocery shopping every weekend for years when I was growing up… I never did get it… If I had… I’d be doing just what they talk about in this song…

20. Far from Home – Five Finger Death Punch… One of those songs you hear in a show and go omg find me that song… give it to me I can’t get enough of it!

19. Love the way you lie – Eminem and Rihanna… I mean when there is musical chemistry you can’t deny it – this is an example of it…

18. Otherside – Macklemore… Macklemore get’s ripped on a lot for some of his songs but there are some songs that are so raw and so real and they will find a way to dig at you and things that you identify with… Otherside is one of those… 

17. My Best Friend – Tim McGraw… Another one of the songs that you would love to leave off of the list because of what it means but when the song spans 10 years of your life and you’ll never be able to hear and not think of certain things of people well just admit it… and know that you’ve moved on and grown and learned and that you’re better for it…

16. Iris – Goo Goo Dolls… Tell me a girl that grew up in the 90s and 2000s who’s list this wouldn’t be on…

15. No Sunshine – DMX… I think when I’m really in a craptastic mood this song lets me vent it out and get over it and get on with things… Ain’t no sunshine….

14. You Gotta Be – Des’ree… Talk about a song that sets you back on track… this is it… You gotta be bad, you gotta be bold, you gotta be wiser, You gotta be hard, you gotta be tough, you gotta be stronger…

13. Stay (I Miss You) – Lisa Loeb… I sang karaoke once… I sang this song… the karaoke machine froze halfway through the song… lol… figures right…

12.  Mourning – Tantric… So this song has such a visual with it for me… I remember a time and place that I associate with this… such a down time in my life… when my dad was first diagnosed… this is always the song I remember from that time… and yet I find it therapeutic to listen to… 

11. Waterfalls – TLC… I will get Left Eye’s verse down one day… I will…

10. I Can Love You Like That – John Michael Montgomery… Perhaps ones of the best country love songs ever… don’t bother arguing you won’t win…

9. The Thunder Rolls – Garth Brooks… I loved this song as a kid… my mom used to get so mad saying I didn’t know what it was about… I learned how to play it on the piano and everything… still one of my favorite songs of his… just boom – sing it Garth…

8. It’s Been A While – Staind… This is my alternative rock song… I can’t ever get enough of it or Aaron Lewis’s voice… we all have been there – we all know what it feels like…

7. Kiss the Rain – Billie Meyers… I used to have this song on a tape cassette and I would play it at night as I went to bed… on repeat… something about it just always spoke to me… I don’t know why… 

6. Round Here – Counting Crows… LOVE this song… love love love it… Snap shot of real life if you ask me… the real life we don’t like to admit we all see

5. Don’t Take the Girl – Tim McGraw… The only repeat artist on my list… probably because I thought I was going to marry him when I was 10… this was a song that my dad and I both loved… Song that told a story… one day this man will play this at one of his shows one day…

4. Unforgettable – Nat King Cole… pure as pure gets… he knew how to sing a love song… I wanted this to be my wedding song if I ever got married… I think maybe it’ll just be my song for me though now…

3. Queen of My Double Wide Trailer – Sammy Kershaw… ok so here’s the WTF song on my list… when I was little I was obsessed with this song and my dad thought it was hysterical… The summer it was out he would call me from work if he heard it on the radio and tell me to turn the station on… if we were in the car he’d turn the volume up and we’d sing it at the top of our lungs… strangest song ever for a dad and daughter to love but my god it was our song… I smile every time I hear it… and tell him to turn the radio on in heaven… 

2. MMMBop – Hanson… Song that brought me back to pop music… I lived in oldies and country growing up and then Hanson happened… I still buy all their albums… they don’t sound a think like MMMBop anymore they are indie and soulful and just fantastic song writers but this song… this started it…

1. Follow you down – Matthew Mayfield… see now I reach number one and now I’m about to cry… 6-7 months ago I guess MMMBop would have been number 1 lol quite a switch to then go to Follow You Down… but nothing can touch this song for me… hello I wrote a whole blog post on it… This song is my heart my soul my life my 30 years in one song… if you asked me to sum up 30 years in 3 minutes it would be this song… 

There were a lot of artists that didn’t make this list – artists that I love but they didn’t have that one song that made me go omg that’s the song or they didn’t have a song that made me think of a very specific time or place or evoke a strong emotion out of me… so maybe my list is weird or awkward and random… but it’s mine… and I love it…

I’m so ready for this next chapter… I’m so ready for my next 30 years… I’m ready for the next 30 songs that will represent who I’ve been and where I’ve come from… Thursday I start Part II of my story… and I couldn’t be more excited…

Leave a Reply

